ASCS Red River Region


Brandon Hanks Triumphs in Impact Signs Open Wheel Showdown at Lucas Oil Speedway

Brandon Hanks Triumphs in Impact Signs Open Wheel Showdown at Lucas Oil Speedway

(Image Credit: Terry Ford)

WHEATLAND, Mo. (May 7, 2016) For the third time in 2016, Tennessee’s Brandon Hanks parked his D&B Farms/Moose Tracks No. 84 in Victory Lane, topping the Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps Open Wheel Showdown at the Lucas Oil Speedway.

The co-sanctioned event with the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps and the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, the event drew 38 drivers to the Lucas Oil Speedway.

Brandon’s third overall win on the season, the win counts as Hanks’ first with the Red River Region, and second with the Warrior Region.

Taking off from the pole, Hanks had to outrun Johnny Herrera for the lead. Not doing so on the initial start, the restart following a four car pileup saw Hanks take off. Giving chase into slower traffic, Herrera’s night ended on Lap 6 as Johnny tried to avoid a stalled car, sending the No. 45x flipping into the wall exiting the second turn. Herrera was able to walk away unharmed.

Underway with 8th starting Derek Hagar to his back bumper, Hanks was able to hold off the charge of the No. 9jr as Hagar had to contend with the hard charging No. 17 of Josh Baughman.

Pulling to a nearly four second advantage in the close laps, slower traffic looked like it was going to serve up trouble for Hanks as Hagar and Baughman closed quickly, but laps would run short as Hanks crossed 0.675 seconds ahead of Derek Hagar.

Josh Baughman was third with Wayne Johnson and Zach Daum making up the top-five.

Jack Dover crossed sixth followed by Matt Covington.

Covington was scheduled to start sixth, but an engine change after his Heat Race moved him to the tail of his qualifying group, putting the No. 95 14th on the lineup.

Eighth went to Cody Baker with Jonathan Cornell ninth. Spinning on Lap 2 while running fifth, Blake Hahn came back to finish out the top-ten.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products heads back to Texas this coming weekend with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network for the Texas World Dirt Track Championship at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, happening May 13-14, 2016. More information can be found at

The Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps returns to action on Friday, May 20 at the “Historic Half-Mile” Missouri State Fair Speedway in Sedalia with the Salute to Veterans Night which also includes the BOSS Chassis WAR Sprint Cars. Races begin at 7:00 P.M. (CT).

For continued updates on all of the American Sprint Car Series, log onto

Race Results:

ASCS Red River and ASCS Warrior Regions
Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.
5th annual Impact Signs Open Wheel Showdown
Friday, May 7, 2016

Car Count: 38

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 9JR-Derek Hagar; 2. 38-Cody Baker; 3. 34-Corey Nelson; 4. 4-Evan Martin; 5. 2-Mickey Walker; 6. 24-Ricky Stangl; 7. 48-Miles Paulus; 8. 05M-Charles McManus

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover; 2. 52-Blake Hahn; 3. 95-Matt Covington; 4. 86-Tyler Thomas; 5. 1A-Adam Jones; 6. 81A-Chris Morgan; 7. 93-Taylor Walton; 8. 49B-Ben Brown

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera; 2. 84-Brandon Hanks; 3. 14-Randy Martin; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox; 5. 20G-Jake Greider; 6. 44-Jared Sewell; 7. (DNF) 7L-Lee Lengel; 8. (DNF) 69-Glen Passmore Jr

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 5D-Zach Daum; 2. 17-Josh Baughman; 3. 33-Austin Alumbaugh; 4. 76-Jay Russell; 5. 3Z-Zach Davis; 6. 9M-Tyler Blank; 7. (DNF) 27-Danny Thoman

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 2C-Wayne Johnson; 2. 28-Jonathan Cornell; 3. 14K-Kyle Bellm; 4. 27K-Tucker Klaasmeyer; 5. 7M-Chance Morton; 6. 8-Lanny Carpenter; 7. (DNF) 8M-Kade Morton

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 14K-Kyle Bellm[3]; 2. 14-Randy Martin[2]; 3. 86-Tyler Thomas[1]; 4. 3Z-Zach Davis[4]; 5. 27K-Tucker Klaasmeyer[6]; 6. 48-Miles Paulus[8]; 7. 49B-Ben Brown[9]; 8. (DNF) 9M-Tyler Blank[7]; 9. (DNF) 24-Ricky Stangl[5]; DNS 1A-Adam Jones; DNS 7L-Lee Lengel; DNS 27-Danny Thoman

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 33-Austin Alumbaugh[2]; 2. 7M-Chance Morton[3]; 3. 81A-Chris Morgan[5]; 4. 2-Mickey Walker[6]; 5. 8M-Kade Morton[9]; 6. 20G-Jake Greider[1]; 7. 93-Taylor Walton[10]; 8. 44-Jared Sewell[7]; 9. 05M-Charles McManus[11]; 10. (DNF) 26M-Fred Mattox[4]; 11. (DNF) 8-Lanny Carpenter[8]; DNS 69-Glen Passmore Jr

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 84-Brandon Hanks[1]; 2. 9JR-Derek Hagar[8]; 3. 17-Josh Baughman[6]; 4. 2C-Wayne Johnson[5]; 5. 5D-Zach Daum[3]; 6. 53-Jack Dover[4]; 7. 95-Matt Covington[14]; 8. 38-Cody Baker[10]; 9. 28-Jonathan Cornell[9]; 10. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 11. 76-Jay Russell[11]; 12. 81A-Chris Morgan[20]; 13. 34-Corey Nelson[13]; 14. 86-Tyler Thomas[19]; 15. (DNF) 7M-Chance Morton[18]; 16. (DNF) 4-Evan Martin[12]; 17. (DNF) 45X-Johnny Herrera[2]; 18. (DNF) 14K-Kyle Bellm[15]; 19. (DNF) 33-Austin Alumbaugh[16]; 20. (DNF) 14-Randy Martin[17]